Winter School
on X-ray Data Analysis
22 Jan - 2 Feb 2018 (Shanghai, China)
 





Lecturers:

Massimo Cappi (INAF Bologna, Italy)

Mauro Dadina (INAF Bologna, Italy)

Matteo Guainazzi (European Space Agency, The Netherlands)

Cristian Vignali (Bologna University, Italy)




22 January (Monday)

8:30-10:00 X-ray Telescopes (pdf)

10:30-12:00 X-ray Detectors (pdf)

13:30-15:00 Linux in a nutshell (pdf)

15:30-17:00 Data, Archive (pdf)



23 January (Tuesday)

8:30-10:00 Downloading standard datasets

10:30-12:00 SAS/XMM-Newton

13:30-15:00 SAS/XMM-Newton (pdf)

15:30-17:00 SAS/XMM-Newton hands-on



24 January (Wednesday)

8:30-10:00 AGN general (pdf)

10:30-12:00 AGN radio-quiet

13:30-15:00 AGN radio-quiet (pdf)

15:30-17:00 NuSTAR (pdf)



25 January (Thursday)

8:30-10:00 AGN radio-loud

10:30-12:00 AGN radio-loud (pdf)

13:30-15:00 Statistics (pdf)

15:30-17:00 XSPEC tutorial (pdf), Description of the projects (pdf)



26 January (Friday)

8:30-10:00 Project

10:30-12:00 Project

13:30-15:00 Project

15:30-17:00 Project (pdf)



29 January (Monday)

8:30-10:00 Project

10:30-12:00 Project

13:30-15:00 Project

15:30-17:00 Project



30 January (Tuesday)

8:30-10:00 Writing a proposal (pdf)

10:30-12:00 Simulations (pdf, commands)

13:30-15:00 Future X-ray missions (pdf)

15:30-17:00 Project



31 January (Wednesday)

8:30-10:00 X-ray spectral rebinning (pdf)

10:30-12:00 Project

13:30-15:00 Project

15:30-17:00 Project



1 February (Thursday)

8:30-10:00 Project

10:30-12:00 Project

13:30-15:00 Project

15:30-17:00 Project



2 February (Friday)

10:00-11:00 Exam (written test)

12:30-17:00 Presentations of the projects




Organizers:

Cosimo Bambi (Fudan University, China)

Jing Lu (Fudan University, China)